Digital Projects Coordinator has a nice ring to it

24 Oct

This morning, I went down to the Cornell University Library Human Resources office and dropped off a signed offer letter. Which makes this official enough that I’m willing to blog about it.

As of November 1, I will be the Digital Projects Coordinator for the consolidated Catherwood, Management, and Nestlé Libraries. This is an academic librarian position, and will — among other things — mean I’ll be part of the consolidated libraries’ leadership group, along with the directors and the coordinators of other units within the libraries. And I don’t even need to switch offices.

A few months back, I talked in vague terms about having made one of the biggest decisions of my career; that decision put me on the path to this position, and I’m thrilled that it’s finally come together. There’s definitely pressure that goes along with this; with the heavy emphasis on digitization and digital projects that’s part of this consolidation, whether I shine or burn people will be paying attention. There’s also a lot of new stuff I’ll need to learn how to do, like writing grant proposals that actually bring in funding.

But, no joke, that’s why I decided to go for this, and that’s why I’m excited as hell about it. How excited? This excited.

In all seriousness, this is huge. I love the work I do, and I love the library I work in. This gig means I can keep doing what I love doing, and do even more of it.

I owe a lot of people for this: the family who supported me. The folks at work who really didn’t need to step up and push for this on my behalf, but did. The folks I met, in Ithaca, Syracuse, and at conferences, who provided advice and empathy. Thank you all, and expect even more thanks as I run into y’all in person and online.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to get to work.

4 Responses to “Digital Projects Coordinator has a nice ring to it”

  1. Erin Dorney October 25, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    w00t congrats!! :)

  2. Jennifer Koerber November 18, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Just seeing this now after your FB post. WOO HOO! Congrats, dude. Nice ring, indeed.

    • Jim DelRosso November 18, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      Thanks! I will still accept congratulations, because it is still AWESOME. :D

Leave a Reply

