Writer’s block update

19 Aug

It’s been a little over a month since I wrote about writer’s block, and despite the seemingly oxymoronic nature of such a post, received a lot of great advice. One bit that I implemented almost immediately came from a very close friend who had the opportunity on numerous occasions to observe my library school work habits.

“Why not just make yourself write for 15 minutes a day? Usually that was enough to get you going on the assignments you were procrastinating on.”

Putting aside the vile calumny that I might procrastinate, the theory seemed sound. So I dropped a daily reminder into my calendar, and it’s actually worked really well. I’ve already put together several pages of project summary that I can probably mold into an article of some kind.

The only problem is that after a few weeks I got burned out a bit on said project summary. So I’ve decided to widen the scope of my daily admonition a bit: 15 minutes a day, either on a project to be published or presented on, or this blog, or my gaming blog (which is an excellent outlet for writing when I really need a break from talking shop).

I’ve been using this iteration for a week or so, and it seems solid. We’ll see where the various projects and so forth stand in another couple of months, though.

2 Responses to “Writer’s block update”

  1. amy August 21, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    this is a genius idea and imma steal it.

    • Jim DelRosso August 21, 2010 at 11:40 am #

      Cool. :) Also, I posted some stuff to the brainstorming document, if you wanna take a gander.

Leave a Reply

