Axioms of assessment

20 Apr

As part of my presentation at CiL2010, I posited that the following relationships often govern how the assessment of patron attitudes are interpreted by libraries. I thought it’d be fun to share it here as well, if only because I’m inordinately proud of locating a font which makes the “proportional to” symbol look good.

This translates as:

“The need to listen to our patrons is directly proportional to how much they agree with what we’re already doing. The need to educate our patrons is inversely proportional to how much they agree with what we’re already doing.”

Sad to say, I’ve been guilty of this myself more than a little. It’s an easy but pernicious attitude to adopt.

Leave a Reply

