CiL2010, here I come

1 Dec

Computers in Libraries 2008 was the first professional library conference that I went to. I was unambitious: it was enough for me to attend, avoid humiliation, and not get captured. (It also marked the start of this blog. Historians, take note.) My return trip was marked by a desire to get more involved in next year’s conference, and a commitment to not getting trapped at the Syracuse Airport overnight.

I decided that for CiL2009, more involvement meant getting to know more people. So I went out to the discussion dinners, talked to presenters and fellow conference goers between sessions (and friended them on Facebook and Twitter), and sung more songs during Sunday’s RockBand session. I left the conference with plans to expedite my graduation from library school, hopes of not getting trapped in Newark overnight, and confidence that next year I could present at this shindig.

Well as a wise man once said, two outta three ain’t bad.*

It looks like I will be presenting at CiL2010. I’ll provide more details as things get set in stone, but suffice it to say that I am thrilled to get this opportunity. I’m looking forward to attending the conference again, and I’ll do my best to bring something interesting to the table during my presentation. Right now I can’t even get my mind around content: I’m just excited that this is coming together.

* God, how I hate Newark.

7 Responses to “CiL2010, here I come”

  1. amy December 1, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    and now i can’t wait to be in the audience for your talk! yay!

    • Jim DelRosso December 3, 2009 at 10:00 am #

      The feeling is mutual! Try to keep heckling to a minimum. ;)

  2. Ben December 1, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    You should know better than to go to New Jersey.

  3. Jill Hurst-Wahl December 5, 2009 at 6:41 pm #

    Jim, I look forward to seeing you at CIL2010!

  4. Margaret Smith April 6, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    JIM, YOU HAVE TO COME OUT FOR KARAOKE ON TUESDAY. FULL STOP.

Leave a Reply

