Nascence is a process

3 Aug

At around noon on Friday, July 24th, 2009, something really cool happened: I finished my last class as a library student. The nice pieces of paper with “Master of Science in Library and Information Science” and “Certificate of Advanced Studies in Digital Libraries” won’t show up for a while, but barring unforeseen calamity I am done with library school.

It’s a major milestone in the path I’ve chosen for my life, and it’s sort of mindblowing that my answer to the question, “Are you a librarian?” just changed from “Not yet” to “Kinda!”  The progress serves as some validation: if I’d decided to go to law school, I’d probably be wrapping up my seventh year of practice by now. If I’d decided to be a professional policy wonk, I’d likely be giving myself an ulcer working 100 hour weeks to get some traction with the new administration. If I’d decided to keep making sandwiches, I’d almost certainly be exploring the experimental reaches of concept sandwiches — like concept albums, but delectable:

“Hey man, can I get a Silmarillion, hold the avocado?”
“Are you mad? The avocado represents Fingolfin’s brave yet futile stand against Morgoth before the fell gates of Angband itself!”
“Great, but… I don’t like avocado.”
“I think you should probably leave.”

…yeah. Librarian was definitely the way to go.

8 Responses to “Nascence is a process”

  1. D.T.Kelly August 3, 2009 at 2:09 pm #

    Congrats!

    So, what would the lettuce represent? ;)

    • Jim DelRosso August 3, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

      The lettuce represents Elros, half-elven son of Eärendil the Mariner, and his choice to forsake immortality and live as a human. The tomato represents his brother Elrond, and together the vegetables capture the tragedy of the decisions forced upon them by their heritage.

      Duh.

      ;-)

  2. Elise August 3, 2009 at 4:38 pm #

    Congrats! I just finished too. What I really want to know is what I should call myself if I don’t get a fancy library job, does this still make one a librarian?

    Maybe I can get a job at Subway and be a sandwich librarian?

  3. Shander August 3, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    I’m wrapping up 25 years as a dancer and going off to library school at SU at the end of the month. But now I’m thinking concept sandwich designer might be a better way to go….

  4. Uninvoked August 3, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    lol, I don’t know which I like more, the post or the comments! I hope as a librarian you will be a bit more flexible about reading then the librarians around here. I went to a couple of local libraries here to talk to some of the librarians about what kind of books they recommended. The hope being that if they picked books based on what they liked, they might be willing to recommend my noveling blog.

    Nope. Apparently they are told what books to recommend, based on literary awards.

    -.-

    I’ve generated more interest in reading just by showing teenagers my blog than this librarian has had getting even one person to look at the YA section of the library. Could there be a reason for this? We may never know…

  5. Kevin August 4, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    So the bacon is Morgoth himself?

  6. Amanda Wineman August 5, 2009 at 1:49 pm #

    Congratulations! And I love your sense of humor & writing style. :):):) You made me laugh.

Leave a Reply

