New gig at my old digs

18 Jan

As of tomorrow, I will be leaving behind the humdrum life of a web editor and reference assistant for the hustling and/or bustling existence of a web and digital project manager. This career mobility isn’t as mobile as it might have been, though, as I’ll still be going to work every day at the Catherwood Library; I’m taking over the team I’ve been a part of since 2006. 

To say I’m excited about this is an understatement.  I enjoy the work our team does, and the work that the library does.  I also dig the folks I work with, which is always a plus. This move means more management responsibilities (obviously), but also more involvement in the vision end of web work within the library.  It’ll be a big change in a lot of ways, and not just that I’ll be trading a demi-cubicle for an office.

I think it’s gonna be keen. But, despite the image in this post, I doubt I’ll be expanding my wardrobe to include a tie, a briefcase, or hair anytime soon.

3 Responses to “New gig at my old digs”

  1. sarah schmidt January 20, 2009 at 3:20 am #

    congrats on the new position, jim!

  2. Charlotte January 20, 2009 at 5:10 pm #

    Well done! Best wishes to both you and the library for the job change.

  3. Dave January 21, 2009 at 12:27 am #

    Blast! I was really hoping to see you at the very least in a tie with a briefcase…

    Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

