Drupal

16 Jun

Does anyone out there with experience using Drupal have advice on the best way to get started on learning to use it? I’m going to enact my usual game plan (“set up and account and play around”), but if others have better suggetions I’d definitely appreciate them.

Thanks!

(And a note for people who read my previous post: there is a subtle but important different between “narcissistic” and “selfish”.)

3 Responses to “Drupal”

  1. drupaluser June 16, 2008 at 6:04 pm #

    Hi, I think your approach of just setting it up and working with it is the best way to get to know it. Start with as few modules as possible and slowly branch out. I found it very hard at first, and then hit some point where everything began to seem easy. Also, I have been reading the book “Pro Drupal Development” and I set up a google alert for blog titles with Drupal in them (which is how I got this). Good luck.

  2. Jaelin June 16, 2008 at 9:33 pm #

    I recommend the videos put out by the Drupal Dojo. Those should get you up to speed on how to do quite a lot. And also check out the other Druapl videos, there is a section on drupal.org that list a lot of them.

  3. Roman June 17, 2008 at 9:33 am #

    Hey Jim – I suggest contacting our web designer Pat Reed (pmrwml@rit.edu) – he was instrumental in redesigning the library’s entire site using Drupal.

Leave a Reply

